Top 5 Regrets of the Dying

Top 5 Regrets of the Dying

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

“This was the most common regret of all. When people realise that their life is almost over and look back clearly on it, it is easy to see how many dreams have gone unfulfilled. Most people had not honoured even a half of their dreams and had to die knowing that it was due to choices they had made, or not made. Health brings a freedom very few realise, until they no longer have it.”

Ahhhh….We are ALL DYING, yes we know. I do think about my life and my death quite often. Most mornings I wake up and just ask myself…”What am I DOING with my Life.” Sometimes – although not as often as before- I compare myself to my friends and colleagues and wonder if I’m moving fast enough. But when I’m calmed down and had a few breaths I realize that I’m doing just fine.

You should take some time to read through this article (click on the link below photo), or just skim through it like I did. #1 just hits the nail on the head for me, it was something I struggled with for a LOOOONNNNNGGG time. But I’d like to say that I’m almost over that hump; and so grateful for that. I spent some of the best years of my life trying to make my parents happy. I was always a good student, but never felt like I was good enough until I had “achieved” something, and then…it wasn’t even enough. I made the Dean’s List my first year of University at Canada’s Best Ranked University; and yet it really wasn’t for me; after that first year, I knew that school was NOT for me. I tried to leave but I was terrified, and didn’t really have the strength to do it.

I suffered through the next 4 years of college like it was a bad marriage. Hopelessly unhappy; unable to share my pain because really I had it all. My folks were PAYING for my education, I had an apartment AND a car…I had it all. It was honestly one of the darkest times of my life. Thank GOODNESS 2 years ago I had the courage to finally tell my dad that I was going to pursue music FULL TIME. He asked me when I would go back to school; and i had to admit, that I had no definite plans to return and that I would try the “singing thing” until I died…literally. That was honestly the most difficult thing I’ve ever had to do; and also the thing I’m most proud of having done done. I love my Dad, I respect him, and I saw the hurt in his eyes when I told him this. But I just couldn’t keep living for him. It was untrue to the life that was given to me from the Divine.

And so I’m free. I’m still evolving to become the woman I want to be; and I predict I will continue approaching the tangent of idealism and perfection. I hope to enjoy the journey there, though i know i may never reach it. Me and the lovely lady with whom i started this blog, have been like soul sisters to each other, and I’m really happy to say that somehow we’ve been hitting all the points on this list.

2. I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.

3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.

5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

The only thing I might add is learning to love oneself more. That includes saying kind things about yourself, forgiving yourself for your mistakes, treating yourself like the King or Queen that you are, and getting regular checkups…if your tummy feels funny don’t wait until you’re writhing on the ground (like me…) to check it out…no matter how much it costs…maybe the landlord should wait an extra month or two if necessary; hell go on welfare if you need to.

My friend and I have talked over such points and many more. We’ve made a commitment, to have more fun…UHMMM hello that’s what this blog is all about “DO YOU BOO”. We keep in touch with friends…and continue to build supportive and nourishing relationships. We pick out of life’s buffet and choose what brings us joy. We’re learning not to care what everyone thinks. We are working on expressing our feelings…I’ll admit that is probably our weakest point. But we’re getting there; and I’m proud to say, we’re chasing our dreams…chasing men…when the occasion calls for it…and living our life like it’s golden.

and so should you boo!

~ by doyouboo on February 2, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
